Weekend Trip: Amsterdam

This weekend concluded 3 straight weekends of traveling! With midterms coming up soon, I think my brain and my bank account need to take a little break. Anyways, I had a fabulous time in Amsterdam this weekend, here are a few of the highlights from my trip!

Vondelpark

 

We woke up at the crack of dawn on Saturday morning to start our day! After a 15 minute tram ride we ended up in Vondelpark. We had a great time walking around the park and could not have asked for better weather!

Waffle eating

 

After working up an appetite walking around the park, I stopped at a little street vendor to get Amsterdam’s world famous Sugar Waffle. This was quite possibly the most amazing waffle I have ever had and I ate it in a record breaking 2 minutes 🙂

Amsterdam Sign

If you didn’t take a cute pic at the Amsterdam sign, did you even go to Amsterdam?? Well I am never one to turn down a photo shoot so I loved this and lucky for me there was a T to sit on! Some people where really brave and climbed the letters to sit on top of them, but knowing my lack of coordination, I settled for a pic on the ground.

Heineken experience 

The Heineken experience was definitely an experience! We first walked through the interactive museum about the history of the beer and then went on a little ride as if we where brewing beer. And most importantly we got to sit on the Heineken thrown (pictured above) which I guess makes us “Heine-Queens”

Dam Square

Then we walked around Dam Square in the city center. This was super cool because the architecture was amazing! Some of the buildings almost seemed like the where slanting toward the street and they looked so old, they might have been!

Canal Boat Tour

The number one thing you absolutely need to do if you visit Amsterdam is go on a canal tour! We took a pizza dinner tour at night and it was my favorite part of the weekend! The canal is the best was to see the city and at night it was stunning!

Well that is it for now! Stay tuned for a Edinburgh post soon about all the fun things I have been up to here this semester so far!

Leave a Reply

