A Weekend in Copenhagen

This weekend I traveled to Copenhagen, Denmark!  It was a great weekend trip and I could not have asked for better weather!

The weekend began on a dark Friday morning at 5:00 A.M. in Edinburgh as my friend and I traveled to the airport for our 7:00 A.M. flight to Denmark. After a 1 hour plane-ride nap, we arrived in Copenhagen.

Here are some highlights from my trip:

Friday

Rosenborg Castle

This stunning Castle was super close to our hostel in a beautiful park area. The mote around the castle had a bunch of extremely friendly swans and ducks swimming around the water. Being the budget conscious travelers that we were, we didn’t pay to see inside the Castle, but walking around the outside was just as stunning.

Botanic Gardens

The Botanic Gardens were one of my favorite places in all of Copenhagen! There are multiple greenhouses filled with tropical plants and a spiral staircase you can take to walk around the top level of the garden. Word to the wise, tropical plants require tropical weather, so make sure to take your jacket off before entering the greenhouse!

King’s Garden

The gardens surrounding Rosenborg Castle and the Botanic Gardens were an idillic oasis from the bustling city center. We followed the meandering path through the gardens and across a quaint little bridge over a stream.

National Gallery of Denmark

14462736_1269848959733870_1350783271661548088_n

This museum was incredible! Although I didn’t buy a ticket to see all the exhibits, I did see the free exhibit focused on the refugee crisis around the world. I loved the exhibit because there were so many different things to read, listen, and watch.

GoBoating on the Canal

It is my firm opinion that the BEST way to truly see Copenhagen is by boat. Goboat is this amazing company that lets you rent boats on an hourly basis and drive them around the many canals of Copenhagen. This beatiful boat ride was the highlight of my weekend!

Saturday

Paper Island

I got lunch at Paper Island and I am still dreaming about that food. Hundreds of tiny food stands line the walls of this giant building and the possibilities are endless!

Nyhavn

14519892_1272153812836718_864126014272271366_n

When you think of Copenhagen you imagine vibrant houses along a rippling canal, right? Well, Nyhavn is exactly that! I had a great time walking around and taking in my surroundings. I couldn’t help but think back to the similarly color townhouses of Georgetown and the fall foliage of D.C.

But the fun didn’t stop there! Check out my next blog post for a surprise day trip to Sweden!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

