Day Trip 1: Loch Lomond & Oban

Hi again!

So this weekend I went on my first trip of the semester to Loch Lomond and Oban. I have loved getting to know Scotland and had so much fun traveling to these two “Highland” destinations. As you can see on the map below, the Highland region is everything above the red line, and yes I did use the drawing app on my phone to make these lines 🙂 org_heraldry_scotland

Anyways, I went on this weekend trip kind of on a whim. I sign up for it a few days before and woke up early Saturday morning to start my adventure! This trip was so relaxing because all I had to do was show up at the bus stop and everything else was taken care of!

Our first stop was in the town of Luss. I walked around the quaint town and couldn’t help but think I was walking in a little gingerbread village.

img_6406

After a tour of the town, we walked down to the docks on Loch Lomond, one of Scotland’s most famous lakes. I cannot express how beautifully peaceful Loch Lomond is! The water was still and blue and there were two white swans walking around the shore.

img_6400img_6506

Once I got back on the bus, we stated our Scotland playlist. It was a mix between classic Scottish folk songs and some contemporary Scottish rock songs. My favorite was “I would walk 500 miles” by the Proclaimers because we did a sing-a-long version, and there is nothing I love more than a good sing-a-long!

We arrived in Oban around 1:00 and had some free time to walk around a explore the beach. It amazed me that I was starring at the ocean in front of me!

img_6420

We visited McCaig’s Tower, a strange and small replica of the Coliseum in the middle of Scotland. It is the highest point in Oban,and had a beautiful view of the water below .

fullsizerender-4img_6435img_6429footer-450

After all that “hill walking” I rewarded myself with some well deserved ice cream. I couldn’t resist snapping this pic with my new friend!

img_6454

As the sun began to set, we headed back to Edinburgh. It was a long day, but I had so much fun! I can’t wait to keep exploring Scotland and sharing my adventures with you, stay tuned for more posts!

Leave a Reply

